On June 19th, California Occupational Safety and Health Standards Board (Cal/OSHA) updated their Covid-19 guidance as Governor Newson signed into law new rules that apply to most businesses throughout the state. Continue reading to learn more about the new regulations and how your business can be prepared for the changing requirements.
Face coverings are no longer required for vaccinated individuals and employees, following updated guidance from the California Department of Health. However, there are a few exceptions to this rule that businesses and employers should be aware of. For example, masks are still required during Covid-19 outbreaks in the workplace while using public transit, K-12 public schools and other childcare facilities, and healthcare facilities.
Additionally, employees who are not fully vaccinated must continue to wear masks indoors or while riding in vehicles with others. Unvaccinated employees can request that their employers provide them with N95 masks while working indoors. So, businesses and employers must keep a stock of N95 masks available to these employees upon request. It is illegal to mistreat, retaliate, or discriminate against any employee who chooses to wear a face mask for their safety.
All social distancing requirements are no longer in effect, regardless of the vaccination status of employees. However, specific settings and workplaces may benefit from social distancing practices and provide clear plastic or glass barriers to protect employees. Employers must monitor the situation closely to determine whether these regulations are necessary. Additionally, social distancing practices are recommended in the event of a Covid-19 outbreak in the workplace.
Covid-19 Testing/ Quarantine
If you have employees who are not fully vaccinated, you are required to provide Covid-19 testing free of charge if they begin to show symptoms of the virus. Here is the protocol to be followed in the event of a positive Covid-19 test in your workplace:
- All employees that had contact with the exposed individual must quarantine for at least 10 days.
- Employees must be paid during their 10-day quarantine.
- Employers are required to provide free testing to these employees upon request. The exception to this rule include:
- Employees who are fully vaccinated
- Employees who have been sick with Covid-19 in the last 90 days
- Employees who are symptom-free
- In the event of a Covid-19 when unique rules apply.
Employees who are fully vaccinated must provide a vaccination card or other document that confirms that they received their last dose of an approved vaccine more than 14 days ago. Employers must maintain a record or copy of the vaccine status on file at the business and those who self-attest to their vaccination status.
Cal/OSHA requires these new guidelines for every business in the state of California. The exception only includes workplaces with only one employee and businesses with employees working from home.
Covid-19 Prevention Program
One guideline that has remained consistent throughout the implementation of temporary emergency standards for Covid-19 is the requirement of a Covid-19 prevention program. Each employer or business must provide a written plan of action for preventing the spread of Covid-19 within their workplace. This requirement remains in place despite recent changes to other areas of Covid-19 regulation.
As Covid-19 guidelines shift, coronavirus variants spread, and many unvaccinated individuals remain, businesses and employers must remain prepared to implement measures to stop the spread of Covid-19. Most employers and workplaces must keep a stock of N95 respirator masks for their employees, and physical and barriers remain a good idea in many settings. Visit our website to learn more about how New Rain can help your business stay prepared with PPE and medical supplies.